• Program Detail

M.S. in Physics

The Master of Science (Physics) consists of 72 units. Students entering with a bachelor degree in the same discipline will be eligible to apply to follow a 54-unit pathway. The topics involve both coursework and research components with core topics focusing on professional studies. These include nuclear and statistical physics, cosmology and optoelectronics, quantum physics, nanotechnology and standards, ethics and compliance. In addition to the core topics, students can choose electives including numerical analysis, methods of applied mathematics, complex analysis and partial differential equations. Students will receive training in advanced research skills and undertake a large independent research project.